top of page

My Opening Fanfare


Packed away in a well-worn leather case was my Dad’s old trumpet. When I was young, I was always captivated and curious about what lay inside. The shiny cold metal was too big for my small hands, yet my dreams were no match for that barrier. I was raised listening to the brilliant horn sections of Earth, Wind and Fire as well as the screaming jazz of Maynard Ferguson. Music dazzled me and all I wanted to do was listen, learn and play. Before long, my Dad was passing his knowledge of music down to me and my passion for playing trumpet grew wildly.


Fast-forward 12 years and I am a junior in college studying music. If you were to ask me how I got here, I would say many hours of listening, practicing, lots of laughter and even maybe a few tears in between. If you were to ask me what keeps me going, I would simply say the many hours of listening, practicing, laughter and tears that are to come.


Now, let's chat about my blog. I thought this would be a fun way to write about music, from pop tunes to music history and everything in-between. I would love to share what I am learning as a growing musician along with the things I have been taught in the past. So if I’ve captured your attention thus far, sit down and stay awhile and tune in with me for all things art.





bottom of page